Get your groove on with Synth Riders. Notes fly and beats pulse in this cyberpunk VR rhythm game. Synthwave music has taken over the world and it's up to jam.
All Reviews:
Positive (11) - 100% of the 11 user reviews for this game are positive.
Release Date:
Jul 12, 2018

Sign in to add this item to your wishlist, follow it, or mark it as not interested

Early Access Game

Get instant access and start playing; get involved with this game as it develops.

Note: This Early Access game is not complete and may or may not change further. If you are not excited to play this game in its current state, then you should wait to see if the game progresses further in development. Learn more

What the developers have to say:

Why Early Access?

“We have big plans for Synth Riders, but we want to make sure we get the mechanics right first. In any rhythm game, the most important thing is for it to be fun and easy to pick up but challenging to master. Our goal is to get feedback on both the ease of use and the difficulty levels so we can optimize both. And of course, we want to make the game as fun to play as possible!”

Approximately how long will this game be in Early Access?

“We would like to release a full version by the end of 2018! With your feedback, we can improve the mechanics, calibrate the difficulty levels, and ensure a polished finished product.”

How is the full version planned to differ from the Early Access version?

“Our main plan is to add additional levels, but we wanted to make sure the levels we've created work well first. We also want to add more achievements, build out a global leaderboard, add additional note types, and even potentially add a level creator.”

What is the current state of the Early Access version?

“From a gameplay perspective, the game is largely finished. All of the features currently listed in the "About This" section are currently implemented. Now our goal is to optimize the mechanics and difficulty levels, add additional songs, and potentially make it a more "social" experience with a leaderboard and level creation/sharing.”

Will the game be priced differently during and after Early Access?

“No, as this game includes all the main functionality we want to include, we feel that it wouldn't be right to charge more unless we make a significant update!”

How are you planning on involving the Community in your development process?

“We'll take feedback any way we can get it! We love reviews and comments so please leave them on the Steam Store. We'll also be scouring social media for clips, reviews, and comments. Any feedback, especially on our mechanics and difficulty settings, is deeply appreciated and will help us make Synth Riders the ultimate synthwave cyberpunk experience!”
Read more
Notice: Requires a virtual reality headset. See the VR Support section for more info.

Buy Synth Riders


Recent updates View all (5)

December 21, 2018

Update 2.0.6

Hello everybody!

We have great news to announce!
  • We added the fastest song of the game so far (180 bpm!) by the legendary Wolf and Raven. This Beatmap was made specifically for working out so we recommend stretching before you play :)
  • We fixed the problems with hit detection! If you're still having trouble, please let us know.
  • We improved Boxing Mode to make it more effective. Now you can turn Boxing Mode off simply by pressing the triggers.
  • And finally we are proud to announce our official editor! Users can now create their own Beatmaps to play with Synth Riders! We're incredibly excited to see what the community comes up with. So get creative by downloading the editor here! -, after you finish creating your Beatmap there is a folder in the Synth Riders' game called "CustomSongs" where you have to drop the .synth file.

Ride the Synth!
3 comments Read more

December 7, 2018

The version 2.0.4 is live!

We have a major update for everyone! We’ve been listening to all your feedback as we try to make this the ultimate VR synthwave experience.

A major request was simply that the game was too short! So we added Easy, Normal, Hard, and Expert levels to all the songs to create a game that was easy to learn but hard to master. We also added 5 new songs from top Synthwave artists:

  • Scandroid - Neo-Tokyo (Dance With The Dead Remix)
  • Sunset Neon - Tonight
  • Powercyan - Space Rock (PYLOT remix)
  • Robert Parker - End Of The Night (Feat. Doubleboy)
  • Dance the Dead - From Hell

We heard that we needed to refine our game mechanics to add new challenges and improve playability. We’re releasing:

  • Different colors for Right and Left handed notes
  • An Energy Level system allowing a user to fail a level after missing too many notes
  • A new scoring system based on Speed and Precision
  • A new settings panel with audio, graphics, calibration and gameplay options

And we know that people loved the visuals and the ambience so we decided to double down. We implemented:

  • New environmental music for loading and menus
  • Two brand new Cyberpunk stages
  • Stunning new visuals across the whole game
  • Performance improvements so the great visuals can be seen on most machines

Finally, we’re excited to announce a Beatmap Editor! This will allow players to map notes to their own songs and play. While we’re not releasing it as part of this update, you can check out a first look in the video section.

Let us know your thoughts in the comments and most importantly Ride the Synth!
5 comments Read more
See all discussions

Report bugs and leave feedback for this game on the discussion boards

About This Game

Synth Riders is a challenging VR rhythm game with a cyberpunk twist. Fly through breathtaking retro-futuristic landscapes to Synthwave music perfectly attuned with every level. Players hit colored notes and note streams that fly by to the beat of pulsating retro synthesizer music. Blue notes can be hit with either hand, pink notes must be hit with one hand only, and orange notes must be hit with both hands at the same time. There are four levels of difficulty: easy, medium, hard and expert.

  • Unique gameplay tailored for Synthwave music
  • Groovy Synthwave tunes from top Synthwave artists from around the world
  • Handcrafted levels
  • Intuitive gameplay
  • Three beautiful retrowave/cyberpunk stages

System Requirements

    • OS: Windows 7/8.1/10 (64bit)
    • Processor: Intel Core i5 Sandy Bridge or equivalent
    • Memory: 4 GB RAM
    • Graphics: Nvidia GTX 960 or equivalent
    • DirectX: Version 11
    • Storage: 3000 MB available space
    • OS: Windows 7/8.1/10 (64bit)
    • Processor: Intel Core i7 Skylake or equivalent
    • Memory: 8 GB RAM
    • Graphics: Nvidia GTX 1060 or equivalent
    • DirectX: Version 12
    • Storage: 3000 MB available space

What Curators Say

7 Curators have reviewed this product. Click here to see them.

Customer reviews

High Volume of Reviews Detected:
Exclude  or  View Only
Review Type

Purchase Type


Date Range
To view reviews within a date range, please click and drag a selection on a graph above or click on a specific bar.

Show graph

Display As:
Review Beta NEW!
When enabled, will sort reviews by new Helpfulness score. Read more about it in the blog post.
Show graph
Hide graph
Review Helpfulness Beta Enabled
There are no more reviews that match the filters set above
Adjust the filters above to see other reviews
Loading reviews...