This content requires the base game Total War™: ROME II - Emperor Edition on Steam in order to play.

User reviews:
Overall:
Mostly Positive (60 reviews) - 75% of the 60 user reviews for this game are positive.
Release Date: Mar 27, 2014

Sign in to add this item to your wishlist, follow it, or mark it as not interested

Downloadable Content

This content requires the base game Total War™: ROME II - Emperor Edition on Steam in order to play.

Buy Total War™: ROME II – Hannibal at the Gates

 

About This Content

Total War™: ROME II – Hannibal at the Gates

Dropping you into the Western Mediterranean at the outbreak of the 2nd Punic War, Hannibal at the Gates features a new campaign map focused on the period that brought the ancient-world superpowers of Rome and Carthage to all-out war.

One of the most famous in history, the conflict demonstrated the tactical genius of great rival generals Scipio and Hannibal. Can you recreate their remarkable strategies, or can you do better? How will you change history?

You enter the war as Carthage or Rome, command the noble Hellenic city-state of Syracuse, or, for the first time in ROME II, play an Iberian faction as the Arevaci or the Lusitani.

Hannibal at the Gates also features:

New Campaign Map:

A more detailed representation of the western Mediterranean than the ROME II map, with players able to expand across 19 provinces dotted with resources and settlements. The major powers of the time, Rome and Carthage, begin at loggerheads but with a number of key regions and client states under their control. Syracuse, the Arevaci and the Lusitani all start with a single region, offering a significantly different and more formidable challenge than playing as one of the two great empires.

Diplomacy-focused Technology:

Rome and Carthage both feature new civil tech-tree branches focused on diplomacy. Both sides begin with multiple allies and client states, and can undermine their opponents’ support by diplomatic means.

12 Turns per-year:

With a time period covering events between 218 - 202BC, each turn in Hannibal at the Gates represents a month, and the campaign transitions through all four seasons of the year, complete with seasonal gameplay effects.

Compact, focused Multiplayer Campaign:
For those generals seeking a more rapid Multiplayer Campaign game, Hannibal at the Gates’ tighter geographic scope makes co-op or competitive 2-player campaigns more focused and faster than a full Grand Campaign.

New Historical Battles:

Hannibal at the Gates adds two new Historical Battles: the Battle of Cannae (216BC) and the Battle of Zama (202BC). Both battles marked key points in the 2nd Punic War, with Cannae representing the high point of Hannibal's invasion of Italy, and Zama marking the completion of Rome's victory and dominance over Carthage.

New Playable Factions for Total War™: ROME II

In addition to mighty Carthage and Rome, players can fight the 2nd Punic War as three new factions: the Arevaci, the Lusitani and Syracuse, each one featuring its own faction traits, characteristics, unique units and campaign start-position. If Hannibal at the Gates is owned, these factions are also playable in the ROME II Grand Campaign.

The Arevaci

Imperialist expansion has brought both Carthage and Rome to the Arevaci's door, although it is Hannibal that currently shares a border with the warlike Celtiberian tribe. As the campaign begins, the Arevaci are neutral but have a clear choice before them: unite with Hannibal and risk genocidal retaliation from the Romans, or remain on good terms with Rome and face the certainty of Carthaginian wrath. Despite their knowledge of the terrain and superb fighting prowess, the Arevaci cannot take on both superpowers at once. For now, they maintain their neutrality, but it cannot last. Someone must control the Iberian peninsula, could it be the Arevaci?

The Lusitani

The Lusitani lived in Iberia long before Carthage or Rome disturbed the region. They are, like their distant cousins the Suebi, not a single clan but a confederation of smaller tribes, working together for defensive and mutual gain Fierce and agile warriors, the Lusitani are well suited to guerrilla warfare. As Hannibal’s Carthaginian army marches through lands previously controlled by Rome, there is opportunity for the Lusitani to expand beyond their bounds and claim back Iberia from its invaders. However, though there may be prudence in caution, even fraternisation with the enemy at first, eventually they must be expelled from the land!

Syracuse

The city-state of Syracuse is renowned throughout the ancient world as a centre for culture and science. It is also rich; Syracuse benefits greatly from its prime position in the central Mediterranean. A string of tyrants dominate its history, defending the city's autonomy against fellow Greeks, Carthaginians and threats from within. In 218BC, both Rome and Carthage would like to see Syracuse under their control once and for all. As the two superpowers go to war again, it stands on a precipice - will Syracuse forge its own destiny or fall into obscurity as just another colonial possession?

New Units

Alongside their regular unit rosters, the playable factions in Hannibal at the Gates get the following new units. If you own Hannibal at the Gates, these units will also be available in the ROME II Grand Campaign:

Arevaci
• Painted Warriors (melee infantry)
Painted bodies and unpleasant stenches instil fear in unlucky opponents, which is half the battle.

• Celtiberian Cavalry (melee cavalry)
A versatile cavalry strike force when commanded by a skilled general.

Lusitani
• Lusitani Guerrillas (stealth spear infantry)
Moving unseen to ambush their opponents, these stealthy guerrilla fighters are masters of their craft.

• Lusitani Spearmen (spear infantry)
Skilled tribal spearmen whose reputation on the battlefield is fully deserved.

Syracuse
• Picked Hoplites (elite hoplites, also available to Athens)
The cream of citizen hoplites to proudly defend their city from invasion.

New Roman Auxiliary units:
• Auxiliary Scutarii (Iberian melee infantry)
These Iberians are more than able to serve Rome at the front of a battle line.

• Auxiliary Scutarii Cavalry (Iberian melee cavalry)
These heavy cavalrymen add a touch of Iberian fire to otherwise conservative Roman ranks.

New Iberian Mercenary units:
• Mercenary Scutarii (Iberian melee infantry)
Large, well-paid men with falcatas can settle a surprisingly large number of arguments.

• Mercenary Scutarii Cavalry (Iberian melee cavalry)
These mounted mercenaries are a fine force for close-quarters combat.

New Italian Mercenary units:
• Mercenary Etruscan Hoplites (Italian hoplites)
Equipped and trained in the Greek fashion, Rome's former masters remain a force to be reckoned with.

• Mercenary Samnite Warriors (Italian heavy infantry)
Conquered peoples can still produce the finest warriors.

• Mercenary Campanian Cavalry (Italian heavy cavalry)
Noble horsemen from some of the finest pastures of the peninsula.

System Requirements

Windows
Mac OS X
    Minimum
    • OS: XP/ Vista / Windows 7 / Windows 8
    • Processor:2 GHz Intel Dual Core processor / 2.6 GHz Intel Single Core processor
    • Memory:2GB RAM
    • Graphics:512 MB DirectX 9.0c compatible card (shader model 3, vertex texture fetch support).
    • DirectX®:9.0c
    • Hard Drive:35 GB HD space
    • Additional:Screen Resolution - 1024x768
    Recommended:
    • OS:Windows 7 / Windows 8
    • Processor:2nd Generation Intel Core i5 processor (or greater)
    • Memory:4GB RAM
    • Graphics:1024 MB DirectX 11 compatible graphics card.
    • DirectX®:11
    • Hard Drive:35 GB HD space
    • Additional:Screen Resolution - 1920x1080
    • Operating System: OS X 10.7.5
    • Processor: 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5
    • RAM: 4 GB RAM
    • Hard Drive: 25 GB
    • Video Card: 512 MB AMD Radeon HD 4850, NVidia GeForce 640 or Intel HD 4000
    • Screen Resolution: 1024x768.

    Unsupported graphics chipsets for Mac: NVidia GeForce 9 series, GeForce 300 series, GeForce Quadro series, AMD Radeon HD 4000 series, Radeon HD 2000 series
    • Operating System: OS X 10.7.5 (or later)
    • Processor: 2nd Generation
    Intel Core i5 (or greater)
    • RAM: 8 GB RAM
    • Hard Drive: 25 GB
    • Video Card: 1 GB NVidia 750 (or better)
    • Screen Resolution: 1920x1080.

    Unsupported graphics chipsets for Mac: NVidia GeForce 9 series, GeForce 300 series, GeForce Quadro series, AMD Radeon HD 4000 series, Radeon HD 2000 series
Customer reviews
Customer Review system updated! Learn more
Overall:
Mostly Positive (60 reviews)
Recently Posted
Yureina
Posted: March 4
Time to fight one of the most important wars the world has ever seen: The Second Punic War. You get a focused map of the Western Mediterranean heavily featuring Italy, Sicily, Spain, and North Africa. Naturally, while there are other factions to play as, this DLC campaign is all about Rome vs Carthage. I'd say it all culminates in the campaign in a great battle between Hannibal and Scipio, but to be perfectly honest I sent Scipio to the bottom of the sea as he tried to ferry his army to Spain. XD

I'm admittedly biased towards a DLC that features this war, though i've got a few issues. For one, it's got those damned "pay for me" techs in the "diplomacy tree" that Caesar in Gaul had, except this time (at first) you aren't exactly swimming in monies. I ended up forcing myself to conquer all of Spain before ever crossing the Alps just so I had the cash to field some real armies. A second issue is the aforementioned cash shortage, which makes the early part of a campaign that is a major war for its entire duration a bit obnoxious since you have to do a little building before getting into the real fight (I ended up crossing the Alps about 4 years after Hannibal did historically).

Lastly... the two historical battles. Zama is just fine, but Cannae.... ugh. CA messed that one up good. I went into detail about this already in my Rome 2 review, but basically the game's melee-centric style, or rather the limited damage ranged attacks seem to do, makes doing Cannae the way it was historically basically impossible. And that just depresses me. I haven't been this irritated about one of CA's historical battles since that BS with Napoleon where they made me fight TRAFALGAR as the FRENCH. I mean, at least at Cannae I was playing as Carthage, but still... sad. :(

But I enjoyed the campaign quite a bit. Lots of fighting all over the map, with me taking over Spain and Italy while also fending off counter-attack attempts as fleets sailed towards my home base at Carthage. I'll have to play this again as the Romans at some point, but I had to do it first as Carthage. It's the proper way of things. XD

It's a little pricey though, so get this during a sale. Have funs! :D
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Schnitzel™
Posted: February 13
In my opinion best DLC for Rome 2 total war!!1 It has a good campaign which is very wide and callenging. My suggestion ? Play as Chartage and crush the romans! xD
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Caligu1a
Posted: January 30
Scipio Africanus shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ..............
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Javilos_Septim ค็็็็
Posted: January 5
When you make a campaign DLC that sets in the same times as the first turns of the grand campaign there is something that you are doing wrong
Helpful? Yes No Funny
劉振雄
Posted: December 25, 2015
Rome 很 sucks

中國 is 第一
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Orlsend
Posted: December 23, 2015
Worth the play if you get on a steam sale.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
[AIMA] EmergingYeti
Posted: September 25, 2015
Awesome campaign. Totaly worth the $15
Helpful? Yes No Funny
SUSAT.
Posted: September 22, 2015
ACE
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Stolen
Posted: July 11, 2015
Don't buy any DLC, You'll regret it...
Helpful? Yes No Funny
LORENZZO
Posted: July 9, 2015
So this is a quick review of Hannibal at the Gates a.k.a HatG. HatG plunges you right into the middle of the 2nd punic war between rome and carthage. You can play as rome, carthage and other groups caught up in the fighting. I started as rome and what first surised me was technology trees. there is a new diplomacy tech tree which helps to gain allys in the fight. Another great part was difficulty. Its not that this dlc is hard but even when nearly the entire map was aiding me carthage was still very tough and fought to the end. One problem is new units. While the iberien tribes have a couple, you will mainly see rome relying on hastati and velites while carthage will use elephants and hoplites for pretty much the entire game. Despite this though this dlc is very fun and i reccomend it to any strategy fan out there.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
PyrrhusofEpirus
Posted: June 20, 2015
Fun
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Ebdanian Admiral
Posted: June 11, 2015
The best campain DLC as far as im concerned. Worth picking up just for the iberian factions and syracuse. the new map is fun as well and allows you to play the spartacus rises mod.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
asdf!
Posted: June 4, 2015
ye
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Nova Rinne
Posted: March 15, 2015
Adding a new chapmaign to the game and having more gameplay.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
🐾♥ Yarfy Fox ^ᴥ^
Posted: February 28, 2015
Samey DLC that does not add too much honestly, although the extra featurse are nice. You get a new Greek faction in the west and two Celtic-Iberian factions for either the DLC or the main game.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
apeal
Posted: February 21, 2015
I played this. I find it impossible to play on both sides. Just my oppinoion
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Posted: February 15, 2015
Pros:
Hannibal Barca.
Seasons and Turns make sense in this DLC.
Delves a bit deeper than the base game into the Iberian factions.
Fun to play, a lot more immersive than the base game.
Difficulties are better set on this map, Legendary is Legendary, Easy is Easy.

Cons:
Some path issues, especially on sea.

Overall: Best DLC you can own. Especially with the new factions and units added.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
200% Dishonour
Posted: February 11, 2015
nice fun mini campaign that adds the punic war. to bad i destoroyed carthage before they even had a chance as syracuse
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Sarkryg
Posted: January 16, 2015
Hannibal at the Gates fails to make any meaningful attempt at recreating the actual Second Punic War. That is the real purpose of a mini-campaign, to be a focused map and a focused campaign based around these historical wars. As just a sandbox, it plays no differently than the base game.

The technology trees are absurdly lazy and poorly designed, being completely incoherent. Multiple turns per year advertised as a meaningful feature, as with seasons and attrition. TPY, seasons and attrition all should have been part of the Grand Campaign.

Massilia got their new roster (and remain unplayable), but E mporion, which is their own colony, yet has the old, unfinished roster. Syracuse is a pathetic copy of Athens, literally “stealing” the “unique to Athens” Thorax and Thureos Hoplites, without having any of their own unique units (Factional Mercenaries are not relevant in this regard).

The Celt-covered Iberia prior to release was pathetic, the Iberian culture (and unique units) should have more or less been in at release. Despite the importance of the Etruscans, Samnites and Numidians in this campaign, they retain boring, unfinished rosters. The Etruscans do not even field Etruscan Hoplites, nor do the Samnites field Samnite Warriors and Campanian Cavalry.

The Boii of this campaign are related to the Boii of the GC, and should have been playable with their proper roster, for a unique start and roster. Likewise, having a Numidian faction and Italian faction playable would have meant creating meaningful rosters for them and enabled unique starts. It is a shame that the separation between “Latin/Roman” and “Italian” culture did not go into the GC, where the Samnites should have been able to rebel in southern Italia or northern Magna Graecia.

The Greek theatre is also entirely missing, with Terra Incognita taking up the East, leaving Rome completely safe in the Adriatic. During this era, Rome was beset by Illyrian pirates and Macedon was in alliance with Hannibal, and had they broken through the Roman allies in Greece, could have turned the tide of the war, but nothing interesting is done. For a game based around the concept of changing history/alternative history, leaving out the Greek theatre was a big failure. Hannibal’s time in Italy was spent raiding, yet he has no ability to Loot settlements as barbarian factions do or Liberate (which would simulate his turning Roman allies to his side). For some absurd reason, the Civil War mechanic is also in this DLC.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
ANKH
Posted: January 8, 2015
Hannibal is white in this game, enough said. There is hardly any historical accuracy. Boo.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Most Helpful Reviews  In the past 90 days
14 of 14 people (100%) found this review helpful
Recommended
Posted: March 4
Time to fight one of the most important wars the world has ever seen: The Second Punic War. You get a focused map of the Western Mediterranean heavily featuring Italy, Sicily, Spain, and North Africa. Naturally, while there are other factions to play as, this DLC campaign is all about Rome vs Carthage. I'd say it all culminates in the campaign in a great battle between Hannibal and Scipio, but to be perfectly honest I sent Scipio to the bottom of the sea as he tried to ferry his army to Spain. XD

I'm admittedly biased towards a DLC that features this war, though i've got a few issues. For one, it's got those damned "pay for me" techs in the "diplomacy tree" that Caesar in Gaul had, except this time (at first) you aren't exactly swimming in monies. I ended up forcing myself to conquer all of Spain before ever crossing the Alps just so I had the cash to field some real armies. A second issue is the aforementioned cash shortage, which makes the early part of a campaign that is a major war for its entire duration a bit obnoxious since you have to do a little building before getting into the real fight (I ended up crossing the Alps about 4 years after Hannibal did historically).

Lastly... the two historical battles. Zama is just fine, but Cannae.... ugh. CA messed that one up good. I went into detail about this already in my Rome 2 review, but basically the game's melee-centric style, or rather the limited damage ranged attacks seem to do, makes doing Cannae the way it was historically basically impossible. And that just depresses me. I haven't been this irritated about one of CA's historical battles since that BS with Napoleon where they made me fight TRAFALGAR as the FRENCH. I mean, at least at Cannae I was playing as Carthage, but still... sad. :(

But I enjoyed the campaign quite a bit. Lots of fighting all over the map, with me taking over Spain and Italy while also fending off counter-attack attempts as fleets sailed towards my home base at Carthage. I'll have to play this again as the Romans at some point, but I had to do it first as Carthage. It's the proper way of things. XD

It's a little pricey though, so get this during a sale. Have funs! :D
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
Most Helpful Reviews  In the past 180 days
20 of 22 people (91%) found this review helpful
3 people found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: December 23, 2015
Worth the play if you get on a steam sale.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
8 of 14 people (57%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: January 30
Scipio Africanus shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ..............
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
Most Helpful Reviews  Overall
69 of 89 people (78%) found this review helpful
7 people found this review funny
Not Recommended
Posted: December 18, 2014
Probably the least mentionable of all the DLC. The Campaign is decent if you play as Carthage for a quick "history lesson", recreating Hannibals progress through the alps was pretty fun, but that seemed to be the only worth while period of the campaign, as I pretty much walked over Rome afterwards, and it was a fairly short experience/easy climb over all.

If Carthage is your favourite faciton, go hard as it displays them very well obviously, but otherwise even on sale you can probably skip this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
140 of 212 people (66%) found this review helpful
6 people found this review funny
Not Recommended
Posted: October 8, 2014
In my opinion, there should be more things in this dlc, more mercenary infantry, skills, map designs, otherwise a modder could have made this in a day, so this is just CA hoarding money for another ♥♥♥♥♥♥ DLC, No Hope :/.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
29 of 33 people (88%) found this review helpful
3 people found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: July 9, 2015
So this is a quick review of Hannibal at the Gates a.k.a HatG. HatG plunges you right into the middle of the 2nd punic war between rome and carthage. You can play as rome, carthage and other groups caught up in the fighting. I started as rome and what first surised me was technology trees. there is a new diplomacy tech tree which helps to gain allys in the fight. Another great part was difficulty. Its not that this dlc is hard but even when nearly the entire map was aiding me carthage was still very tough and fought to the end. One problem is new units. While the iberien tribes have a couple, you will mainly see rome relying on hastati and velites while carthage will use elephants and hoplites for pretty much the entire game. Despite this though this dlc is very fun and i reccomend it to any strategy fan out there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
52 of 78 people (67%) found this review helpful
3 people found this review funny
Not Recommended
Posted: January 16, 2015
Hannibal at the Gates fails to make any meaningful attempt at recreating the actual Second Punic War. That is the real purpose of a mini-campaign, to be a focused map and a focused campaign based around these historical wars. As just a sandbox, it plays no differently than the base game.

The technology trees are absurdly lazy and poorly designed, being completely incoherent. Multiple turns per year advertised as a meaningful feature, as with seasons and attrition. TPY, seasons and attrition all should have been part of the Grand Campaign.

Massilia got their new roster (and remain unplayable), but E mporion, which is their own colony, yet has the old, unfinished roster. Syracuse is a pathetic copy of Athens, literally “stealing” the “unique to Athens” Thorax and Thureos Hoplites, without having any of their own unique units (Factional Mercenaries are not relevant in this regard).

The Celt-covered Iberia prior to release was pathetic, the Iberian culture (and unique units) should have more or less been in at release. Despite the importance of the Etruscans, Samnites and Numidians in this campaign, they retain boring, unfinished rosters. The Etruscans do not even field Etruscan Hoplites, nor do the Samnites field Samnite Warriors and Campanian Cavalry.

The Boii of this campaign are related to the Boii of the GC, and should have been playable with their proper roster, for a unique start and roster. Likewise, having a Numidian faction and Italian faction playable would have meant creating meaningful rosters for them and enabled unique starts. It is a shame that the separation between “Latin/Roman” and “Italian” culture did not go into the GC, where the Samnites should have been able to rebel in southern Italia or northern Magna Graecia.

The Greek theatre is also entirely missing, with Terra Incognita taking up the East, leaving Rome completely safe in the Adriatic. During this era, Rome was beset by Illyrian pirates and Macedon was in alliance with Hannibal, and had they broken through the Roman allies in Greece, could have turned the tide of the war, but nothing interesting is done. For a game based around the concept of changing history/alternative history, leaving out the Greek theatre was a big failure. Hannibal’s time in Italy was spent raiding, yet he has no ability to Loot settlements as barbarian factions do or Liberate (which would simulate his turning Roman allies to his side). For some absurd reason, the Civil War mechanic is also in this DLC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
20 of 25 people (80%) found this review helpful
3 people found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: June 11, 2015
The best campain DLC as far as im concerned. Worth picking up just for the iberian factions and syracuse. the new map is fun as well and allows you to play the spartacus rises mod.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
14 of 20 people (70%) found this review helpful
2 people found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: February 15, 2015
Pros:
Hannibal Barca.
Seasons and Turns make sense in this DLC.
Delves a bit deeper than the base game into the Iberian factions.
Fun to play, a lot more immersive than the base game.
Difficulties are better set on this map, Legendary is Legendary, Easy is Easy.

Cons:
Some path issues, especially on sea.

Overall: Best DLC you can own. Especially with the new factions and units added.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
11 of 18 people (61%) found this review helpful
4 people found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: February 11, 2015
nice fun mini campaign that adds the punic war. to bad i destoroyed carthage before they even had a chance as syracuse
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
13 of 22 people (59%) found this review helpful
5 people found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: December 23, 2014
AH.... Hannibal at the Gates DLC - WOW, I have completed this twice(ignore the 0.0 hours as it must count towards the whole game) - it is fantastic, A Rome II fans Punic Wars DLC dream. I have completed it with "ROME & CARTHAGE" and with Radious mods installed and the new units and fixes are a welcomed bonus - this is in my opinion a bit better than "Caeser in Gaul" DLC as it offers more scope, you get a good selection of units IMO, but to explain... I enjoyed every aspect of this DLC - diversity, the "Punic" period, small but large campaign map - new models for generals/unit parts everything has been adapted properly, plus the bonus of modding is a Godsend.
So if you are planning to buy this DLC - please feel free to do so as you won't be dissapointed, I wasn't but also try out mods from the "STEAM WORKSHOP" & also check out "TotalWar.com as they have many-a-mod for your needs.

Overall I would say that this DLC IS worth the money!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
17 of 32 people (53%) found this review helpful
Not Recommended
Posted: January 4, 2015
Not what I expected of "Hannibal" campaign.
These DLCs cost very much but don't bring much value to the game.
So far I didn't liked any of campaign packs for this game. It is disrespectful to game fans to charge 10$ for such DLCs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
7 of 13 people (54%) found this review helpful
Recommended
Posted: December 21, 2014
A very interesting DLC focused on the 2nd Punic war. I am really enjoing this. It's fun with both Rome and Carthage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
19 of 38 people (50%) found this review helpful
2 people found this review funny
Not Recommended
Posted: December 20, 2014
This DLC is lacking severly in the new content area. The units and tech are all the same as the normal game, and they threw the name Hannibal over some elephants. With nothing new being brought to the table for units or tech, why buy this DLC?

I guess the map is interesting. They blow up the Mediterranean map a bit, which would have been more fun had it allowed focus on more factions. I know that's not the point, but dragging Hannibals ♥♥♥ across a small peice of Europe isn't really much fun. It could have been, but you spend all your time throwing your boring substandard units at cities loaded with barbarians. It get's extremely repetative, especially compared to the many campaigns this game has to offer.

So if you like paying for blown up maps, enjoy the DLC. Otherwise just play the Grand Campaign or any of the others available. You could just as easily play this scenario out in the larger theater.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
3 of 7 people (43%) found this review helpful
Recommended
Posted: February 28, 2015
Samey DLC that does not add too much honestly, although the extra featurse are nice. You get a new Greek faction in the west and two Celtic-Iberian factions for either the DLC or the main game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
5 of 12 people (42%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
Recommended
Posted: September 25, 2015
Awesome campaign. Totaly worth the $15
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
3 of 8 people (38%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
Not Recommended
Posted: January 5
When you make a campaign DLC that sets in the same times as the first turns of the grand campaign there is something that you are doing wrong
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
11 of 25 people (44%) found this review helpful
Recommended
Posted: December 9, 2014
An interesting adaptation to the original, I prefer this map as it is set out, it would be good if the normal game map were the same.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
3 of 9 people (33%) found this review helpful
Recommended
Posted: March 15, 2015
Adding a new chapmaign to the game and having more gameplay.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
1 of 5 people (20%) found this review helpful
Recommended
Posted: September 22, 2015
ACE
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny