This content requires the base game Fossil Echo on Steam in order to play.

All Reviews:
No user reviews
Release Date:
Jul 8, 2016

Sign in to add this item to your wishlist, follow it, or mark it as ignored

Downloadable Content

This content requires the base game Fossil Echo on Steam in order to play.

Buy Fossil Echo - Special Edition Content Pack

Buy Fossil Echo - Special Edition

Includes 2 items: Fossil Echo, Fossil Echo - Special Edition Content Pack


About This Content

Immerse yourself even deeper into the rich world of Fossil Echo with this additional content.
Fossil Echo Special Edition contains the following :

Fossil Echo Original Soundtrack by John Robert Matz

This soundtrack features 25 tracks and 2 bonus tracks from the game. With over an hour of music reworked from the in-game tracks, this orchestral soundtrack faithfully captures the soul of Fossil Echo.

01 - The Island, the Tower
02 - At the Foot of the Fortress / Racing the Wind
03 - Kindling the Fire
04 - Jungle, Temple, Mural
05 - The Boatman
06 - Dawn / Feather Chase / Into the Shadows
07 - The Second Night Falls
08 - The Desert Bazaar
09 - Ascending Through Ice
10 - Warmth in the Cold
11 - The Forest and the Fire
12 - A Struggle and a Stone
13 - Cold Dawn, Stained Glass
14 - The Ladder
15 - Sunset on the Savannah
16 - A Tree to Rest Under, A Trunk to Sleep Against
17 - The Old Man and the Great Owl
18 - Into the Caves
19 - From the Roots to the Boughs
20 - Seeking by Starlight, Finding by Falling
21 - A Temple Above the Clouds
22 - Home
23 - The Door, A Friend, The End
24 - Epilogue
25 - Main Theme
26 - (Bonus) Greenlight Trailer Soundtrack - Remastered
27 - (Bonus) Release Trailer

The Making Of Fossil Echo

This 20+ pages PDF file gives you a sneak peek into the development of the game. From concept art to spritesheets, level design and development anecdotes.

Other Extras

All formats cover art templates (for printing). 8 wallpaper sets, with desktop, phone and tablet variations. 5 profile picture sets, 15 unique variations.

Game Description :

Fossil Echo is a short and challenging, story driven platformer with hand drawn 2D graphics. Set in a fantastical world, it tells a wordless tale of adventure and mystery.


  • Varied and detailed environments
  • Hand animated 2D characters
  • Over 15 minutes of fully animated cutscenes
  • A wordless, mysterious story
  • Breathtaking orchestral score
  • Very dynamic and demanding platforming gameplay
  • Tense stealth mechanics
  • Well hidden secrets and unlockables
  • No HUD or on-screen indications
  • Speedrun-Friendly (in-game timers...)


Influenced by the Oddworld series, Ico, and Shadow of the Collosus, as well as Studio Ghibli films, Fossil Echo tells the story of a young boy and his journey to climb a giant tower in the middle of the sea. How and why he got there are questions that will be answered via playable flashbacks during his ascent. The game offers over 15 minutes of fully animated cutscenes and the story is told without any dialogue or written text.


Fossil Echo mixes old-school, "die & retry" platforming gameplay with some stealth elements. As in Abe's Oddysee and Another World, you have little margin for error; precise movement and timing is required to get through and avoid confrontation, as the character is young, weak, and unable to fight or kill, most of the time...


Fossil Echo features a detailed art style, with pre-rendered/hand painted backgrounds and hand animated 2D characters. Adopting the style of animated film, it presents an array diverse environments, from lush forest to snow covered tower. With no HUD or any indications displayed on screen, the game aims at immersing you from start to finish.


The world of Fossil Echo is brought to life by over two hours of unique, original music by John Robert Matz (Gunpoint, Rodina) and sound design by Gordon McGladdery (Rogue Legacy, Fantastic Contraption). Music and sound work in concert to set the mood and highlight the story and actions during gameplay and cutscenes.

Fossil Echo is developed by Phil Crifo (Story, Art & Design), Thierry Boura (Programming), John Robert Matz (Music), and A Shell In The Pit (Sound Design).

System Requirements

    • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8/8.1/10
    • Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2GHz or higher
    • Memory: 2 GB RAM
    • Graphics: 256mb Video Memory
    • DirectX: Version 9.0c
    • Storage: 1500 MB available space
    • Sound Card: Required
    • OS: Windows 7/8/8.1/10
    • Processor: Core i3 2GHz or higher
    • Memory: 4 GB RAM
    • Graphics: 1 GB Video Memory
    • DirectX: Version 9.0c
    • Storage: 1500 MB available space
    • Sound Card: Required
There are no reviews for this product

You can write your own review for this product to share your experience with the community. Use the area above the purchase buttons on this page to write your review.