Shacknews - Steve Watts

The Internet had already pieced together the clues heard in yesterday's teaser-trailer, but today Sega formally announced its "Model 2 Collection." The set of re-releases from the company's model 2 arcade boards include Virtua Fighter 2, Fighting Vipers, Sonic: The Fighters, Virtua Striker, and Virtual On.

A new trailer (via Joystiq) confirms that the re-releases will hit PlayStation Network and Xbox Live Arcade. VF2, Fighting Vipers, and Sonic: The Fighters will be released in Japan in 2012. Virtua Striker and Virtual On have not been given a date yet in Japan, and none of the games have been announced for release in North America.

Each of the games will include online multiplayer, and Sonic: The Fighters features Honey the Cat as a playable character. Honey was cut from the arcade game, but if Sonic fans demand one thing, it's a wider cast of furry friends.

Shacknews - Steve Watts

Though a German ratings board let the cat out of the bag a little early, Sega is continuing on its merry way through its back catalog. We already know about a few of them, but they worked hard on this and we hate to disappoint them, so just look surprised.

A short teaser-trailer from Sega of Japan (via Joystiq) teases five games from the era of the company's model 2 arcade board. The visuals are very minimalistic, simply saying "2x5," but the teaser plays distinct sounds from several games: Virtua Fighter 2, Fighting Vipers, Sonic: The Fighters, Virtua Striker, and Virtual On. We already knew about the first three from the German ratings leak, but Virtua Striker and Virtual On are new revelations.

An announcement is planned for tomorrow, and that announcement will almost certainly be that the games are set to be re-released as downloadable games on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Sega has had a lot of success with its classic re-releases lately, so as the trailer says, "get ready."


Search news
May   Apr   Mar   Feb   Jan  
Archives By Year
2018   2017   2016   2015   2014  
2013   2012   2011   2010   2009  
2008   2007   2006   2005   2004  
2003   2002