Halo: Spartan Assault brings the excitement of Halo combat to Steam for the very first time. Battle your way through 30 action-packed missions against the Covenant as you explore the origin of the Spartan Ops program featured in Halo 4. *DirectX feature level 10 required.
User reviews:
Recent:
Mostly Positive (64 reviews) - 76% of the 64 user reviews in the last 30 days are positive.
Overall:
Very Positive (3,027 reviews) - 81% of the 3,027 user reviews for this game are positive.
Release Date: Apr 4, 2014

Sign in to add this item to your wishlist, follow it, or mark it as not interested

Buy Halo: Spartan Assault

Packages that include this game

Buy Halo: Spartan Bundle

Includes 2 items: Halo: Spartan Assault, Halo: Spartan Strike

 

Reviews

“Halo: Spartan Assault is an addictive shooter that retains enough of the look and elements of the Halo universe to please.”
4/5 – PC Magazine

“Spartan Assault is a true Halo game, even if the series signature scope and size are scaled down.”
8.25/10 – Game Informer

“Varied, bite-sized missions fit the top-down play perfectly.”
4/5 – Digital Trends

About This Game

Halo: Spartan Assault brings the excitement of Halo combat to Steam for the very first time.
Battle your way through 30 action-packed missions against the Covenant as you explore the origin of the Spartan Ops program featured in Halo 4.

Earn Steam achievements, complete missions and compete against your friends for the top scores in the leaderboards.

It's time to join the assault, Spartan!

Features
  • Epic campaign featuring 30 action packed levels with a brand new Halo story set just before the events of Halo 4.
  • Command many of your favorite Halo weapons, vehicles, and armor abilities, and customize your Spartan to create the perfect Spartan warrior.
  • Complete weekly challenges for XP and compete against your friends in Leaderboards for ultimate bragging rights
  • Game supports keyboard/mouse, USB Xbox controller and virtual joysticks for touch.

System Requirements

    Minimum:
    • OS: Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1
    • Processor: Dual core processor
    • Memory: 1 GB RAM
    • Graphics: DirectX10 compatible graphics card w/ dedicated 512MB RAM (ATI Radeon 3670, NVIDIA 8600 GT or Intel HD 3000)
    • DirectX: Version 10
    • Storage: 2550 MB available space
    • Additional Notes: ** DirectX feature level 10 required **
    Recommended:
    • OS: Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1
    • Processor: Quad core processor
    • Memory: 2 GB RAM
    • Graphics: DirectX10 compatible graphics card w/ dedicated 1GB RAM
    • DirectX: Version 11
    • Storage: 2550 MB available space
Customer reviews
Customer Review system updated! Learn more
Recent:
Mostly Positive (64 reviews)
Overall:
Very Positive (3,027 reviews)
Recently Posted
jamesbfield77
( 0.2 hrs on record )
Posted: July 21
This table top formation game is very good and like the Halo's of the xbox era you go around shooting the grunts and elites with their own weapons as well as the UNSC's fine weaponary.

Halo fans may well be into this formation or perhaps not but to each their own.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Shattered
( 13.6 hrs on record )
Posted: July 19
Halo 3 is the best halo, even though it has bad hit detection.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
wowadrow
( 5.4 hrs on record )
Posted: July 18
Fun little twin stick shooter.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
MS. GreenLabel
( 14.4 hrs on record )
Posted: July 17
Nice game for the price smooth controls, looks good and plays very well and of course the all important Steam trading cards
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Psychotic Raptor
( 0.3 hrs on record )
Posted: July 16
No!
Why this game was released for the price that it is, I don't know. I thought the hateful reviews were all just haters making every flaw stand out, but there are so many flaws. All of them stand out.
First few seconds into the game, you know it's crap. You accept that it's crap, and you continue playing it for a while longer hoping that it will get more fun. It doesn't
A Few Reasons Why This Game Sucks
  • Graphics are terrible
  • Gameplay is simple
  • Combat is unnecessarily easy
  • AI can't think for themselves
  • The Magnum got nerfed. In other words, it shoots super slow and feels like a marshmellow gun on anything stronger then a grunt. Not to mention it's short range. It's bullets literally disappear after going five feet away.
  • No reloading (now this could be considered a good thing, but it takes away from the game). Having an endless clip makes the game feel, well, weird.
  • Your gun doesn't point to where you're aiming until you shoot.
  • Raising your gun to shoot takes too long. They've literally already reached cover by the time the first bullet reaches their old position.
    And these are just the ones that I can think of off the top of my head! There are way to many flaws to consider this a completed game.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
cyroden_
( 2.6 hrs on record )
Posted: July 15
Let me just start off by saying, this game is fun.

But the AI could be better.

I know this game is here for PC players that wouldn't have been able to play Halo on a console because they didn't have enough money, etc, but this specific game has it's ups and it's downs.

I don't have much time so I'm gonna write a quick review.

Ups:
The controls are spot on and easy to use.
Some missions make the game exceedingly fun.
This game lets you have fun, but be serious at the exact same time.
Remember the Focus Rifle in Halo Reach? They upgraded it to max, and they will drain your shield in no time.

Downs:
The AI could be harder, it's real easy to kill an elite as you need to melee it two times.
The story is short.
Price could be lower.

But here, let's talk specifically about the AI.

Enemies

The setting is a little weird actually, it's in Halo 4, but, correct me if I'm wrong, but there were no brutes in Halo 4 right? Because they are in here.

The Elites are very easy to kill, 2-3 melee attacks and they're dead.

Grunts, easy as always, really no con there.

Jackals, medium, I mean they have shields and they are very hard to avoid for me, so I'd give them a medium because when their shields are down they are very easy to kill.

Drones, for people who don't know what drones are, look in the link below this sentence, anyway, they're somewhat hard, as you can't melee them so they can be a little difficult.

https://www.google.com/search?biw=1440&bih=785&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=halo+drone&oq=halo+drone&gs_l=img.3...50580.51018.0.51131.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0....0...1c.1.64.img..0.0.0.ku0b_V3xwcs#imgrc=FH4p5Bj-8tPWtM%3A

Brutes, complicated, they swarm into battle on jetpacks so you can't kill them instantly, they take a few hits to hit and are a little hard.

Overall rating of enemy AI: 9/10

Friendlies

In Halo 4, there were spartans that would help you in battle, same as a marine that has shields and a little more health. I don't see them in this game, not that it bothers me, it would be a nice feature or skull that would remove half of the credits you earn, but, I'm convinced that this game takes place in Halo 3.7, (almost to the setting of Halo 4) so I would expect them, but oh well.

Marines, they uh, switch on and off of when they want to die? I don't know, it's just that the game has certain times where they'll die and when they won't, either I'm protecting them a lot or they don't die from a grenade blast, kinda confuses me.

Overall Friendly Rating: 7.5/10


OVERALL RATING: 8.5/10

Game needs adjustments, but it's pretty fun once you get used to it!
Helpful? Yes No Funny
FedEx
( 0.4 hrs on record )
Posted: July 13
This game needs local multi-player and controler support. Without these two things, this is just a mobile game poorly ported to the PC. I regret buying it.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Silence
( 2.2 hrs on record )
Posted: July 13
Fun, cool and brings back some good memories of fighting grunts and elites in New Mombasa. But it gets really tedious and and constantly running up and down the map to complete objectives. A lot of running around the map and too little gun blazing like the Halo that i know. It's a mobile game so dont expect much. Though it's really good, it should have just stayed as a mobile game. Controls a bit challenging and not as easy and using ur mouse to aim and shoot. Not much story but still nice. However, even with that, it's still really cool how they made the game from a bird's eye view unlike the fps version. Guns are cool and all but lack the real Halo feel. The "no reload" thing is ok but find it hard to keep a gun for long before needing to find another or getting more ammo. But kinda disappointing overall for a Halo game. Really should have stayed on mobile. Unless u are the "new comer" of Halo, the people who played from Halo: Combat Evolved wouldnt enjoy it as it feels different from the originals. It's really mixed feelings for this as it's a Halo title, and I'm a huge fan of it but this game does not live up to that name, mobile or not. Nice and cool for a new view and all but would not reccomend if u are a long time lover of Halo just to save u from the dissapointment. For others to try out this, it's nice to get a game that somewhat feels like Halo just to get u into the feel of Halo before entering console(if u were considering) I'm not saying this game sucks, its nice and good and cool and stuff for new players but old timers wouldnt like it. Reccomended for new players/first time players but for long time fans, it could be a huge disappointment
Helpful? Yes No Funny
NickNitro
( 5.7 hrs on record )
Posted: July 12
This isn't the Halo game you are looking for, but it doesn't mean it's not a good game.
Still has everything Halo has except it's top down shooter. I personally think it's a nice twist
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Bright
( 1.4 hrs on record )
Posted: July 10
Mobile trash.
Helpful? Yes No Funny
Most Helpful Reviews  In the past 30 days
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful
Recommended
4.0 hrs on record
Posted: June 26
even though it's a top down twin stick shooter, it's still a fun Halo game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful
Recommended
0.5 hrs on record
Posted: June 24
Only get if you like Halo
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful
Recommended
5.7 hrs on record
Posted: July 12
This isn't the Halo game you are looking for, but it doesn't mean it's not a good game.
Still has everything Halo has except it's top down shooter. I personally think it's a nice twist
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful
Recommended
5.0 hrs on record
Posted: July 10
I enjoyed it, and I recommend it to any other big fans of the Halo series, especially for the price
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful
Recommended
2.6 hrs on record
Posted: July 15
Let me just start off by saying, this game is fun.

But the AI could be better.

I know this game is here for PC players that wouldn't have been able to play Halo on a console because they didn't have enough money, etc, but this specific game has it's ups and it's downs.

I don't have much time so I'm gonna write a quick review.

Ups:
The controls are spot on and easy to use.
Some missions make the game exceedingly fun.
This game lets you have fun, but be serious at the exact same time.
Remember the Focus Rifle in Halo Reach? They upgraded it to max, and they will drain your shield in no time.

Downs:
The AI could be harder, it's real easy to kill an elite as you need to melee it two times.
The story is short.
Price could be lower.

But here, let's talk specifically about the AI.

Enemies

The setting is a little weird actually, it's in Halo 4, but, correct me if I'm wrong, but there were no brutes in Halo 4 right? Because they are in here.

The Elites are very easy to kill, 2-3 melee attacks and they're dead.

Grunts, easy as always, really no con there.

Jackals, medium, I mean they have shields and they are very hard to avoid for me, so I'd give them a medium because when their shields are down they are very easy to kill.

Drones, for people who don't know what drones are, look in the link below this sentence, anyway, they're somewhat hard, as you can't melee them so they can be a little difficult.

https://www.google.com/search?biw=1440&bih=785&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=halo+drone&oq=halo+drone&gs_l=img.3...50580.51018.0.51131.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0....0...1c.1.64.img..0.0.0.ku0b_V3xwcs#imgrc=FH4p5Bj-8tPWtM%3A

Brutes, complicated, they swarm into battle on jetpacks so you can't kill them instantly, they take a few hits to hit and are a little hard.

Overall rating of enemy AI: 9/10

Friendlies

In Halo 4, there were spartans that would help you in battle, same as a marine that has shields and a little more health. I don't see them in this game, not that it bothers me, it would be a nice feature or skull that would remove half of the credits you earn, but, I'm convinced that this game takes place in Halo 3.7, (almost to the setting of Halo 4) so I would expect them, but oh well.

Marines, they uh, switch on and off of when they want to die? I don't know, it's just that the game has certain times where they'll die and when they won't, either I'm protecting them a lot or they don't die from a grenade blast, kinda confuses me.

Overall Friendly Rating: 7.5/10


OVERALL RATING: 8.5/10

Game needs adjustments, but it's pretty fun once you get used to it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful
Recommended
13.6 hrs on record
Posted: July 19
Halo 3 is the best halo, even though it has bad hit detection.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
Most Helpful Reviews  Overall
1,580 of 1,750 people (90%) found this review helpful
2 people found this review funny
Recommended
8.2 hrs on record
Posted: April 4, 2014
For £3.99 it's a pretty decent game. The use of Steamworks is really nice, it's good to see this game has achievements & full controller support.

The levels are short & simple, so don't expect a massive game. Achievements & leaderboards add some replayability.

This does NOT have micro-transactions. Previous versions on the mobile version had them, but they were since removed.

The only feature I would like to see added is co-op mode.

Also Halo 3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
656 of 756 people (87%) found this review helpful
Recommended
3.1 hrs on record
Posted: April 4, 2014
A Halo game on Steam? Hopefully the first of many more! I'm a huge fan of Halo and when I first heard of this game coming to Steam I got excited. The game is only 5 dollars which is a great price for the content it provides. Does the game run smoothly? Well yes! The movement is spot on and the keyboard/mouse controls are well done. So I love the controls, the gameplay, the price, and the content the game brings us in general. But, there are a few things I don't like about it. I don't like the video settings. They are very lacking for a PC game. The options are Resolution, Anti-Aliasing, and the refresh rate. And I wished it was Multiplayer. Maybe co-op; that would be very fun. But besides all of that, I think the game is great and worth the price!
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
571 of 686 people (83%) found this review helpful
24 people found this review funny
Recommended
9.0 hrs on record
Posted: August 1, 2014
Great game but seriously Microsoft put Halo 3 on Steam it will give you teh moneys.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
523 of 651 people (80%) found this review helpful
Recommended
15.8 hrs on record
Posted: April 4, 2014
If you compare it to other Halo games it will be the worst of them all. But it is stilll a good game. The mechanics/controls are smooth and feel responsive. the story is interesting (if you are a fan of the Halo universe). The cutscenes are also really well made, same goes for the rest of the graphics. I think I beat it within 3 to 4 hours so it is not too long but is has some replay value.

Overall it is a nice little game you can kill time with. I think 4.99 is a good price for it and for me it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny