Age of Wushu is a free, action MMORPG based in an ancient Chinese world of kung fu. The game features eight different martial art schools to choose from, dazzling aerial duels, and a sophisticated system of combos and counters.
User reviews: Mixed (213 reviews)
Release Date: Mar 27, 2014

Sign in to add this game to your wishlist or mark as not interested

 

Recent updates View all (30)

September 30

No Server Maintenance - 10/1/14

The regular scheduled maintenance has been cancelled for this week! Enjoy the extra hours of server up time!

Get ready for our next expansion coming in October, Winds of Destiny!

Find out more here!
http://www.ageofwushu.com/static/jssj/

0 comments Read more

September 23

Server Maintenance - 9/24/14

Greetings!

All Age of Wushu servers will undergo server maintenance on 9/24/14.

Start - Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 3:00 AM CDT (Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 1:00 AM PDT)
End - Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 7:00 AM CDT (Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 5:00 AM PDT)

All services will return to normal after the maintenance period.

This downtime is to reboot our servers. There will not be a client update this week.

0 comments Read more

Reviews

“Age of Wushu brings fresh life to stale genre features, and even gives your character an intriguing, danger-filled life when you're offline.”
IGN

“Age of Wushu is more of a creative attempt at trying to escape the box of classic MMO design then it is something completely new and different.”
Ten Ton Hammer

“This is a successful blend of familiar MMO concepts with plenty of unique twists”
Cheat Code Central

About This Game

Age of Wushu: Snail Games’ topnotch sandbox MMORPG that lets player become an aspiring Kung-Fu master and experience the captivating, oriental world of Ancient China. By combining revolutionary combat with beautiful renderings, players will master a variety of martial skills as they delve into a unique self-realization path to the pinnacle of power.

Players are given tons of freedom unparalleled in modern MMORPGs in their journey to master the ancient Chinese martial arts, to delve into their character's unique story, to face the consequences of every action, and to fulfill their destiny.

Key Features

  • Sophisticated, Revolutionary Combat
    The challenging combat system offers a flashy visual feast: in essence, it boils down to utilizing countering combinations of Overt, Feint and Parry to strategically overcome your opponents. Experience dazzling aerial fights and graceful combo moves! Imagine fight & chase scenes in Hero or House of Flying Daggers: soar through the air with flight prowesswhile you skirmish all over the city.
  • An Alluring, Vivid World
    Traverse through cities with enchanted waterways and bridges, Imperial palaces of golden grandeur, tavern bustling with merchants and sinister alleyswith lurking black figures – immerse yourself in the most realistic and enchanted depiction of Ming Dynasty ever created. In the lawless world of Wuxia, we deliver classic architectures and breathtaking landscape straight into your view. Age of Wushu – a world filled with natural and human wonders.
  • Dynamic Encounters, Endless Adventures
    Events in Age of Wushu are not planned, but experienced. These experiences are mysterious and can occur without any warning. You could run into a bit of serendipity or find yourself in a bit of trouble. Some of them could confer a life-changing set of martial arts skills without the player having to lift a finger. Or you could wear yourself out, only to receive a reward as valuable as a simple stone.
  • The Choice is Yours
    The game puts an emphasis on freestyle PvP and sandbox aspects by implementing ample related system: gratitude and revenge where the game makes sure you remember your killers, player/NPC affinity, random encounters, challenges & instances, secondary factions and an elaborate guild system that often require political choices in forging allegiances. With the addition of an expansive gathering\crafting system, you decide how to live in the lawless world of Jianghu. Become a successful merchant, a righteous constable or an outlaw that disregard all rules: the choice is always yours.

System Requirements

    Minimum:
    • OS: Windows® 8 /Windows® 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP
    • Processor: Pentium 4 2.4Ghz or equivalent
    • Memory: 1 GB RAM
    • Graphics: GeForce6600 or equivalent,Video memory: 128MB
    • DirectX: Version 9.0
    • Network: Broadband Internet connection
    • Hard Drive: 10 GB available space
    Recommended:
    • OS: Windows® 8 /Windows® 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP
    • Processor: Pentium Dual-Core E6 series or equivalent
    • Memory: 2 GB RAM
    • Graphics: GeForce9600GT or equivalent,Video memory: 512MB
    • DirectX: Version 9.0
    • Network: Broadband Internet connection
    • Hard Drive: 10 GB available space
Helpful customer reviews
31 of 40 people (78%) found this review helpful
39.4 hrs on record
Age of Wu Shu is a free to play Chinese based martial arts MMO that was released in April 2013 and only has servers in the USA.

This game stands apart from so many other MMO's that exist out there in that it doesn't totally follow the other bigger MMO predecessors and it adds a lot of unique innovative content that I've never seen. Kudo's to it for that at least. From the start I went wow pretty quick and I really wanted to like this game but, after about 30 hours of play, it only rates as "average" due it's many downfalls.

To provide some background I thoroughly enjoyed the PVP aspect of World of Warcraft and I think this has raised the bar for me to such a degree that many games are ruined for me now as I know what I want but I'm yet to really find it again. I loved the battlegrounds and I loved the open world combat that existed since vanilla but the game has changed so much that open world pvp doesn't really exist much due to flying mounts. Battlegrounds are either full of the best geared opponents at max level or of "twinks" within the lower level brackets (characters deliberately kept within those brackets and have the best gear to give themselves a combat advantage) so that the end result is generally a walkover if you fight them.

Having enjoyed these aspects so much, I've played other MMO but find the currently prevailing idea of pvp being limited to a sectioned off part of the land where castle sieging and zerg fighting are the norms, quite boring. In this land individual strength or pvp means very little. What happened to the days of 1v1 combat? So I moved on and a short time later I came across a few reviews that said Age of Wushu gives open world PVP and is quite good. With my interest tweaked I downloaded the 8 gigs and rolled right on in. The first thing that hit me smack bang in the face was the extremely poor use of english in the quests, logs, and item descriptions - to the extent that when a tutorial or a quest would tell you what to do that the item was misnamed making it difficult to understand. I briefly wondered if this was a tongue in cheek attempt at Engrish but no. No, it wasn't, it's just TERRIBLE translations - almost as if they have used someone to translate first from Chinese to Russian and then to English. This game was released a year ago - What the???

There are some good points to the game such as the game such as innovative content I've never seen in any mmo before - such as
- innovative ideas within the game such as players remain in game in "jobs" when they logoff and can earn cash for doing this
- you can kidnap these players who are undertaking jobs to earn cash
- having a more developed social system than other games where you can mark players as friends, close friends, enemies, blood enemies which allows for different options
- you can marry in game with extra ability lines opened up for this.
- the game centres around pvp - whether guild fighting guild - your martial arts school fighting another school - apparently world pvp although I could never initiate anything for some reason....- enemy guild raiding and land capturing.
- unique combat system with rock vs paper vs scissors type combat and relies heavily on blocking (see negatives)

Sounds good doesn't it. Yeah well the downsides are quite large also
- There are no voice overs so you rely on the in game text to explain things. The translation from Chinese is absolutely terrible and makes things hard to understand
- game has a very steep learning curve and the poor use of engrish makes it hard to understand what to do
- the first five hours of the game will consist of going "huh" what the hell am I meant to be doing and then running around to random NPC's to hand in rubbish to develop core skills.
- quests are a pain in the ♥♥♥ as dialogs don't continue between "scenes" and you have to finish the conversation and start it multiple times to get to the end of the conversation
- VERY bad use of english in game, to the extent that the game can be hard to understand
- 1v1 Battlegrounds are pretty crap (didn't try others). When I beat a person by more than 2 kills a random decent NPC is dropped in to assist. There was literally no way I could beat both the NPC and another player of any skill together. Maybe this NPC is a short term fix to balance the queue mismatching that I noticed occurring like when I fought someone double my level (I was 10 and he was 20) and every hit I did barely hurt them. When the NPC was with me that person also hid. If this is a balancing fix it's a pretty poor excuse to fixing matchmaking.
- 200 ping and I'm on a cable connection which makes blocking pretty hard to use accurately and this game relies on blocking.
- there are different pools of money you use in game and one of which is to buy and sell from players. The main source of this money seems to be from buying gold online, as in pay to win.
- character skill development and gear can be purchased through the online cash store and online gold which means, yes, it is clearly defined as a pay to win game.
- more character options unlock when you pay the $9.00 fee per month to be a VIP account. You can pay further fees to unlock one more option (I forget the name).
- one character per server. If you pay for VIP status it only applies to one server...

I could probably go on but it's getting late and I'm sick of typing.

To summarise, yes it was a bit of fun but the con's fairly heavily outweigh the pro's especially in a market where a lot more refined games exist that aren't so clearly pay to win. I really don't get the poor use of english and how that hasn't been fixed in the past 12 months. I would have thought that, having released this game to a western market this would have been a high priority.


I came across this game hunting around the internet for an open world PVP game. An article I read suggested this was the next best thing to playing World of Warcraft
Posted: April 22
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 of 22 people (77%) found this review helpful
714.2 hrs on record
ok it is like this Age of Wushu is a great game but these are the things you need to know . chinese to english on quest can make things a little harder to understand on certain quest . this game is hard for non long time gamers to do well on there own . you need friends and a guild that will help you . some of the schools will - NOT - take the time to help you much or none at all . for those who jump in without friends in the game that know what is going on they will find this game bad and dislike it odds are. you can be attacked at any point in the game be aware of this . but most don't do this only fight with friends or school members. but there are always those few who take joy in back hitting you while your busy doing something . show those players no respect or mercy . DON'T go out from your school { unless you need to or with higher geared friends } until you have your 3rd inner up to 20 level . lay low learn the game and grow strong then play smart be aware of some players who attack anyone for the hell of it . if you must go to the cities alone move fast and find a safe spot to setup a stall or check what people are selling . on the rooftops just anyplace may NOT be a safe place . try find a more remote spot on a roof . you do need to spend a little money to make life better on the game but the game should get some money if you grow to love it as i have .
Posted: May 11
Was this review helpful? Yes No
42 of 71 people (59%) found this review helpful
2,225.4 hrs on record
Veeery complex MMO unlike anything you've played before!
It can be extremely confusing due to the fact that it has a very unique game mechanics. Prepare to learn MMORPGs from step 1.

Once you get over this massive hurdle, it's an extremely fun game that gives you a very good insight on a world of martial arts. Scenery and music are amazing.

9/10
Posted: April 12
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 of 24 people (63%) found this review helpful
1.1 hrs on record
I can see the potential that lies within the game - It has an in-depth battle system(Being the flagship of the game), which sounds really great, until you realize you have no idea what the ☠☠☠☠ is going on other than the fact that to attack you have to press a hotkey(Which turned me off from the start, but was not enough to make me jump ship). This would not be a problem, you'd assume, were you to quietly follow the tutorial, but no - The tutorial is absolutely rubbish. It may tell you your goal, but half the time, you'll have to fidget around with the controls to figure out how to get there yourself(Even with the most basic functions), or, even worse, when it tries to walk you through the complex menu system and fails to properly explain how anything works(Even more so if you're new to these types of specific Asian games and their distinctive style) or why.
The game itself seems to have a lot to offer, and if someone is willing to put in the effort to study and master it - go ahead, but as a gamer that stands on the thin line between "Hardcore" and "Casual" I can say that I do not recommend this game to anyone looking for a relaxing, reasonably challenging and easy to learn game, especially since even the Steam F2P library holds much more well-localized and well-refined games that are not that far off from this one in setting.
Posted: April 5
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful
426.0 hrs on record
I find this game amazing. I've spent only 18 dollars on it and that was for 2 memberships that you dont even need. The game is fun if u can get over its little glitches.
Posted: July 18
Was this review helpful? Yes No
388 of 559 people (69%) found this review helpful
0.3 hrs on record
You like pay to win? than this game will be one you will love. At the start you get to see about 7 NPC's who each try to get you to buy something as well as a bunch of gimicky keep playing for auto rewards, which is just standing in a street waiting. They even have a stall option that keeps you logged on long enough to get the waiting rewards, but only for VIP payers, everyone else must stall the old fashioned way... or just go play somethign better. Oh yeah and you know a game is pay to win when the entire global chat is people selling the in game currency.

Did i mention they have a stall option.... litterally it says its the stall option.... and you have to pay for it!!!
Posted: March 28
Was this review helpful? Yes No