Colonize solar systems, smash entire worlds, and crush your foes in epic battles with multiple players and thousands of units. Don't just win, annihilate!
User reviews: Mixed (11,077 reviews)
Release Date: Sep 5, 2014

Sign in to add this item to your wishlist, follow it, or mark it as not interested

Buy Planetary Annihilation

Packages that include this game

Buy Planetary Annihilation - Digital Deluxe Commander Bundle

Includes 2 items: Planetary Annihilation, Planetary Annihilation - Digital Deluxe Add-on

 

Recommended By Curators

"The successor to Total Annihilation, well above average with mechanics rarely found in other Real Time Strategy Games."

Recent updates View all (62)

May 28

Resume Anywhere hits Planetary Annihilation!

Currently working on fix for lost connection to server issue. Will update ASAP

In the latest update, we've added the ability to resume anywhere in PA. This means you can rewind any game you are playing or from a save game and play from that point! Lost against the AI? No problem, just rewind back and try a different strategy!

How to use it:
-Load or start a game
-Open Chronocam
-Rewind back to where you want to go. You have to rewind at least 2 seconds
-Select the Play From Here (Beta) button and Yes when asked “Rewind history and restart battle?”
-Wait for simulation to load
*note* Older replays (before this update) will not support resume anywhere and the button will not appear

Full update notes on the AI improvements, UI changes, Balance changes, and bug fixes can be found in game either on the main menu or in the patcher, or by going by the Steam PA forums!

http://steamcommunity.com/app/233250/discussions/0/618463106377632125/

19 comments Read more

April 14

Online Galactic Save/Load enabled!

We've got Galactic War Save/Load for offline and online servers now!

Also included in this update is a Sandbox option in the Game Lobby to enable server cheats without using a mod. (Please note, this does not work in ranked games.)

Bugfix/Polish:

- Fix for crash loading a saved game
Known Issue: Saved games that experienced this crash prior to the fix will continue to crash. This will fix future saved games from crashing.
- Added a text warning to indicate filenames restrictions
- Fix for vision after reconnect
- Fix for the gas giant size bug in System Designer
- Added a sandbox option to enable server cheats without using a mod. (This does not worked in ranked games.)
- Enable Galactic War Save/Load for PlayFab servers
-- These save files will disappear after ~30 days.
-- If you revert the Local Server setting, your save will still work, however you will not see the save file available until you change your Local Server setting again​.

13 comments Read more

About This Game

Colonize solar systems, annihilate homeworlds, and exterminate your foes in epic interplanetary battles with multiple players and thousands of units. Planetary Annihilation takes strategy gaming to a never-before-seen scale -- and gives players powerful tools to control the action.

Blow up everything, anywhere; dominate with punishing spacecraft, robots, and other futuristic machines of war. Arm asteroids and send them on planet-destroying collision courses. And take over an entire galaxy in a dynamic single-player mode with procedurally generated content. Don’t just win, annihilate!

Key Features Include:


  • Epic Single-Player - Galactic War is a twist on traditional real-time strategy campaigns that has players battling across a dynamic galaxy filled with procedurally-generated content. Every playthrough is different. Annihilation is final.
  • Epic Multiplayer - Play with up to ten friends (or enemies) in massive free-for-all and team-based matches.
  • Spectate And Broadcast - Spectate matches with a suite of incredible viewing options or broadcast with integrated Twitch.TV support.
  • Advanced Command And Control - With intuitive drags and clicks, seamlessly switch between planets, mine resources, create custom unit formations, or pulverize armies.
  • Dynamic Picture-In-Picture - View and interact with your units on another planet in a second window as you focus and control the action in your primary view.
  • Instant Replays - View in-match recordings in real-time while matches are in progress. See when a battle turned by rewinding the game to any point or check out the entire match after a game ends.
  • Smash Planets - Don’t just win, annihilate. End games with the mother of all weapons: an asteroid on a collision course.

*Internet connection required.

System Requirements

Windows
Mac OS X
SteamOS + Linux
    Minimum:
    • OS:Windows Vista SP2 64-bit
    • Processor:32 or 64-bit Dual Core or better
    • Memory:4 GB RAM
    • Memory:Integrated graphics with shared memory requires 6GB
    • Graphics:Shader 3.0 / OpenGL 3.2 +
    • Resolution:1280x720
    • DirectX®:9.0c
    • Hard Drive:2 GB HD space
    • Additional:These specs are still being determined.
    • Additional:Windows XP is NOT supported. The game will not run in XP.
    • Offline Mode:To automatically use a local server, we require 8GB of RAM and 4 logical CPUs. Local server requires 64-bit. There is no 32-bit server.
    Recommended:
      OS:Windows 7 64-bit
    • Processor:Quad Core
    • Memory:8 GB RAM
    • Graphics:Dedicated Graphics Chip (Not Integrated) / OpenGL 3.2+
    • DirectX®:9.0c
    • Hard Drive:2 GB HD space
    • Additional:These specs are still being determined.
    • Offline Mode:To automatically use a local server, we require 8GB of RAM and 4 logical CPUs. Local server requires 64-bit. There is no 32-bit server.
    Minimum:
    • OS:OS/X 10.7, 10.8, 10.9, or 10.10 (64-bit only)
    • Processor:64-bit Dual Core or better
    • Memory:4 GB RAM
    • Graphics:Shader 3.0 / Open GL 3.2+
    • Resolution:1280x720
    • Hard Drive:2 GB HD space
    • Additional:These specs are still being determined.
    • Additional:32-bit versions of OS X are not supported
    • Offline Mode:To automatically use a local server, we require 8GB of RAM and 4 logical CPUs.
    Recommended:
    • We urge all OS/X users to use the free upgrade to 10.9 or 10.10 to guarantee maximum compatibility and performance.
    • Offline Mode:To automatically use a local server, we require 8GB of RAM and 4 logical CPUs.
    Minimum:
    • OS: Any Linux distribution supported by Steam, 64-bit only
    • Processor:64-bit Dual Core or better
    • Memory:4 GB RAM
    • Graphics:Shader 3.0 / Open GL 3.2+
    • Resolution:1280x720
    • Hard Drive:2 GB HD space
    • Additional:These specs are still being determined.
    • Additional:32-bit distributions of Linux are not supported.
    • Offline Mode:To automatically use a local server, we require 8GB of RAM and 4 logical CPUs.
    Recommended:
    • OS:Any Linux distribution supported by Steam, 64-bit only
    • Processor:64-bit Dual Core or better
    • Memory:8 GB RAM
    • Graphics:Shader 3.0 / Open GL 3.2+
    • Hard Drive:2 GB HD space
    • Additional:These specs are still being determined.
    • Offline Mode:To automatically use a local server, we require 8GB of RAM and 4 logical CPUs.
Helpful customer reviews
272 of 407 people (67%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
129.8 hrs on record
Posted: January 15
So first of, why all the negativity?
Well the game is certainly not without it's faults. It has had a rocky start and some people do have problems with even getting it to run properly without crashing. But it is getting better.

The latest version is by far the best version. The new balancing and tweaks for units make it so much better in many ways. Compared to a few months ago, when I bought it (oct 2014) it is much better. The fixes for stability and performance was really needed and can't be appreciated enough.

The future looks bright as the game continues to be developed and gain features and fixes. For those that want to play around there is an excellent tool for mods, PAMM (Planetary Annihilation Mod Manager). With that you can install, uninstall, update mods with just a few clicks. Mods range from UI tweaks and hotkeys to overhauls that change the whole gamebalance. Some even adding in new units.
Well worth looking into even if you only want to add teamcolours to commanderexplosions.

So what is the game.
Well it is a game where you balance economy with expansion while trying to stop you oponents to gain economy and expand. The goal is to defend and keep your commander alive while finding and killing your oponents commanders. Depending on what skillevel you land on you will find the game as a nice slow basebuilding excersise (not appreciated style in multiplayer ;) ), or a spamfest where the goal is just to outproduce you oponent and overwhelm them or, lastly, as toptier you will have a real good spamfest but also with an intense need for always making the most of everything. Meaning you will need to micro armycomposition. Making sure your anti-air isn't in the front getting slaughtered. Doing that in a couple of places is one thing now do it in up to ten places on a sphere. Then introduce more spheres, more oponents. It gets hectic, frustrating and really rewarding when you manage to have some control.

The game really scales very well to. You can play 10 people on a small planet and have an intence fight from start or you can play 2v2v2v2 starting on a planet for each team. It is up to what you and the ones you play with wants.

There is a 1v1 ladder that presses skill hard on those that need it. This is where you can see the balance of the game shine (or not :P). It is easy to get into and replays are available to study what the good players does that works.

Actually the replaysystem in it self can merit some mentioning. they call it ChronoCam. It makes the whole game into something that can best be compared to a videoplayer. Jump around, change speed and so on is all there. The really amazing thing is that while you play a game you can jump into ChronoCam anytime and rewind to see what you missed. Not something you will use often but still a fun thing.

While 1v1 ladders rarely (never?) end up advancing the tech to tier 2 there is a largescale endtech war to be had. It involves planet vs planet where the goal is to get a beachhead with a teleporter to massinvade from you homeplanet. Or you could scout the location of the enemy commander and target the location with a nuke volley to punch through the anti-nuke defences. Just before christmas they also added the Unitcannon. Big artillery piece that lobs units to any place in the system with pinpoint accuracy. With it you can land a harassmentforce righ inside you enemy's base.

It really is a game that will reward those that embrace it. But it also isn't a game for everybody.


Addendum 2015-05-25
In response to kwiksilver344's comment
2 days ago they launched pte-82000 with way to much balancing tweaks and bugfixes to post here. One month between patches is comparatively high when it comes to games when they contain so much changes.
Yes the saves bit are bugged. Quoted from the pte changelog....
#Discussions_QuoteBlock_Author
Saving a Galactic War game has not changed. Select Save Game (Beta), wait about 5-10 seconds, then exit out of the game. You can exit by selecting Quit to desktop.
Please note, selecting “Quit to Main Menu” will not save the game.
There are sadly plenty of aspects of the game that could be described as underdeveloped. But for them to prioritizing the multiplayer aspect is only natural. That is where the game shines. The singelplayer bit (galaxy War) is very lackluster.
I can also recomment cheking out PAMM (Planetary Annihilation Mod Manager). There are plenty of things to play around with including big overhauls that change the whole game around.

PTE is a testbuild branch you can opt into via the the steam client. It is where new balance tweaks gets tested before hitting the live branch.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
171 of 254 people (67%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
368.5 hrs on record
Posted: February 4
I've been playing this RTS since the initial alpha release, I've watched it steadily get better and better over time. If you enjoyed Total Annihilation and Supreme Commander this game captures a similar (note: similar, not identical) feel, but with a unique approch using spherical maps (you can have one or multiple planets)

The highlight of this game for me is playing with a group of friends in team games with shared armies. I played a good deal of SupCom / SupCom:FA with friends and while it was fun, it just didn't capture the same feeling of team cooperation that you can get from sharing a single set of units working with your friends. Shared armies lets you split up the management of the game by not forcing any one single person to keep track of everything (and in large games over multiple planets, this can be difficult) Tasks such as economy expansion, scouting and raiding, orbital and multi-planet expansion can be split among teammates. This does require a degree of cooperation as there is a single shared resource pool, but the benefits are well worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
255 of 397 people (64%) found this review helpful
8 people found this review funny
48.9 hrs on record
Posted: January 9
You can fly planets INTO OTHER PLANETS.
And if someone flys a planet into YOUR planet you can blow it up with a laser BEFORE IT HITS YOU!

What's not to like?
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
130 of 198 people (66%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
20.2 hrs on record
Posted: January 16
I only recently purchased Planetary Annihilation when it was on sale for five dollars the last weekend. Im actually very impressed. Ive been out of the strategy genre for a while now but I feel as if this particular game is the perfect grand return to the scene. It can be a bit challenging trying to master all of the multi tasing necessary to be successful ad its definitely about production and managing your ecnomy to outproduce your enemy. After a few practice games you can easily get the hang of it. Great game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
100 of 158 people (63%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
81.1 hrs on record
Posted: January 30
Bottom line: While a cool take on an RTS, this game is extremely frustrating. I don't think I will play it again for quite some time.

Edit: after having returned to this review a little more level-headed, I have decided to err in favor of a positive review. I have added some positive points below.

Edit 2: I apologize for how long this review ended up being. I also just saw how many hours Steam has logged for me playing PA. This is partly due to what I mention in bullet 2.

Yes, I am writing this after just being completely hosed in my one and only multiplayer, ranked 1v1 match. Yes, I am writing this after coming from having been recently annihilated on my very last battle in the Galactic War I was in (the furthest I had ever gotten up to that point). Yes, I'm not by any stretch the greatest RTS player out there (but I really thought I was getting the hang of PA after several hours of play). And yes, I'm probably not in the best frame of mind to write an unbiased review. Still, for now, I'm sticking to my opinion above. Let me tell you why:

  • This is not a casual game. There is no Easy Mode.
    For some games, that is okay. Some time ago, I reviewed FTL: Faster Than Light. In FTL, the fact that there is no easy mode is okay because, while it is difficult, all you really need to do better is know how to plan upgrades and know when to pause during a fight (hint: very often). With those two skills, and a measure of patience, your only really challenging enemy is bad luck. In a game with no significant curves thrown at you, you can work through it without a ton of effort most of the time.
    This is only kind of true with PA. In PA, you either do the right thing, maximizing productivity all the time, or lose (and in the case of a Galactic War - permanently). There's very little room for error. Really, the only way to win any fight is to pause often and issue several orders at once. Otherwise you are just going too slowly to keep up. While this is not always a bad thing, I feel it is a little inappropriate for a Real-Time Strategy game.
    With the tech options at your disposal, there are often only a couple of paths you can take to success. If you can build a vehicle factory, do it right away and pump out tanks and AA. If you have air factory tech, focus even more on that and pump out bombers. Always play offensively; there is no such thing as a defensive win unless you already have a serious advantage. Don't interrupt the natural progression of building - make cheap units and buildings first until you have a lot of excess metal and energy. Trying to shoot immediately to an advanced factory, as I have often tried, always fails. Expand as fast as possible, across your start planet and to other planets. In the endgame, metal is always your most restrictive resource, so grab as much as you can as early as you can.
    When you are able to do it right and win, it is a satisfying win. But in the final battles of a Galactic War, you already start significantly overwhelmed, meaning you have to take out as many commanders as fast and early as humanly possible or you lose - badly.
  • There is no way to save and return to a fight - so they always have to be finished in one sitting, or paused and left running.
    Now, I have read somewhere on the forums that is mostly because the developers have to do more optimizations on their end to have the ability to save games using the Chrono Cam, which is basically a replay feature very similar to what you find in the Dirt racing series (or at least Dirt 2). The idea is that, when fully implemented, you can open a saved game (or the one you are in) and rewind/fastforward to any point you choose, and pick up right where you left off. While this will indeed be a very cool feature when implemented (it's one of the things that really sold me about Dirt 2), it doesn't make up for the fact that currently there is no saving at all, not even a stop-gap feature until the Chrono Cam saves are done. This seems like a pretty basic omission to a game not still in beta.
  • There are still some aspects of actual play that feel unfinished. One of the larger examples is planet-smashing. While I have not yet smashed a smaller planet into a larger one (to supposedly achieve the crater effect shown in the promo video), I have successfully smashed some fairly equally-sized planets together - and the resulting animation is completely underwhelming. The attacking planet approaches along a path that often has several unrealistic jerks, it lines up with the target, and runs into it. That's pretty much it. There's no planet-crumbling explosions that shatter it into a thousand pieces or widespread surface deformation as they collide. The model for the two planets simply overlap breifly until they each reach the other's core, and then both instantly disappear. The only evidence that planets once existed there are the mushroom cloud(s) of whatever commander(s) you destroyed still billowing up from the invisible surface of a now non-existent planet.
    Other smaller issues:
    - The relatively small number of structures and units. This would be different if there were some faction-specific units with differing strengths/weaknesses. Right now, the only difference between two armies' units is their color.
    - The pause screen banner has an invisible no-click zone above and below it, requiring repositioning the camera until the desired selection is in the bottom or top quarter of the screen before you can click it.
    - Sometimes after selecting a group of units, the arrow keys stop working; so that you must first deselect the units, move the camera so that you can see the units and the target, then selecting the units and issuing the order.
Also, in case you are wondering, I always play with the maxed out ("Uber") graphics preset and can still get a good framerate, so that is not the issue.

Okay, with those negative points out of the way, here are some positive ones:
  • The general idea behind Planetary Annihilation is certainly ambitious and, if successfully fleshed out, will be totally awesome.
  • PA is still a pretty solid RTS. Play on a single planet feels like it should for any standard RTS (my opinion from my perhaps limited experience).
  • Interplanetary gameplay adds a whole new dimension to an otherwise well-explored genre.
  • Kill your opponents by blowing up their planets. Make it a destruction by collision with another massive body, or with a frickin' laser beam, Death Star style.
  • If planet destruction isn't your cup of tea, then you could try a much more subtle death-by-bajillion-nukes. The mushroom clouds are quite pretty.
  • If that's still a bit strong for your taste, then there's always the classic invasion-with-hundreds-and-hundreds-of-units method.
  • The community seems to be a good one, and the developers do interact and take feedback on the forums.

Ultimately I decided to mark this a positive review, but only just. As I said above, PA can be very frustrating for several reasons, but that is at least partly balanced by how unique it is, and how awesome it has the potential to be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
59 of 89 people (66%) found this review helpful
4 people found this review funny
4.4 hrs on record
Posted: February 1
My friend and I teamed up against two AI, an hour had passed as we fortified our planetand suddenly our planet exploded and we won. After looking at the replay the AIs planet was in our orbital path and smashed right into ours we simply died last.

10/10 would spend an hour to crash into a planet again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
39 of 56 people (70%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
5.0 hrs on record
Posted: May 9
So, I want to love this game. I really do. It's cleverly designed, has a lot of great ideas, and can be fun to play.

HOWEVER...

This game's fatal flaw is it's lack of organization tools.

Every single time I play this, it's an annoying, confusing cluster and I can't figure out what's happening, where, or why. I lose time, lose efficiency, and then just lose because I had no idea which of my units were doing what, and where, and why.

Here's the solution: Have a box somehwere on the screen where you can organize your units. I want a list of everything I have, and I want to able to click on a unit and see something like this:

Missile Tank (click to give name)
-Currently attacking Bot Factory
-50/100 HP
-Mode: None

another example:

"ocean squad leader" (Stealth Sub)
-Currently on patrol
-100/100 HP
-Mode: Patrol

another:

Fabrication Bot (click to give name)
-Currently Building Advanced Bot Factory
-100/100 HP
-Mode: Auto Improve

I want to be able to click on any of the units in the list and switch the current camera to their view.

I also want to be able to organize the list. Maybe have a default organization that you can set in the options (like checkboxes for "Sort by unit type?" or "Sort by job?") and be able to change it in game, by assigning groups of units their own drop-down box and name.

I want to love this game... I really do. I can see that a lot of work was put into this game, and I admire the devs for their dedication and hard work... But I just can't play this game. It's like torture. I can't.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
49 of 75 people (65%) found this review helpful
7 people found this review funny
29.3 hrs on record
Posted: February 1
Killed someone with a moon called Bob.
10/10 Would Bob again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
32 of 45 people (71%) found this review helpful
88.0 hrs on record
Posted: January 31
Lots of lag, lots of servers, lots of BOOM! Really very fun on a powerful PC. I believe that this game lives powerfully if you have many friends who own the game, because then you can start a private game and Skype. I do not have many friends with the game, but if i did I would play this game nonstop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
118 of 198 people (60%) found this review helpful
101.7 hrs on record
Posted: December 18, 2014
A promising game with a bumpy development and mis-timed release. That's why PA has so many negative reviews. It's better now. Is it the best RTS? Probably not. Is it fun? Yes it is.

The whole multi-planet thing is a really great feature, especially with the new unit cannon. The metal planet and smashing is cool too. Is it as good as say, SupCom: FA? No, with less units and less balence, no. But it's still a great game with fantastic soundtrack, and again, multi-planets can be confusing, but it is wonderful.

9/10 I recommend it, but it's not the best RTS.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
92 of 153 people (60%) found this review helpful
3 people found this review funny
0.4 hrs on record
Posted: January 16
The system requirements are as helpful as reading a map upside down! good game though 10/10
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
111 of 189 people (59%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
40.8 hrs on record
Posted: February 4
An Amazing game that is 100% worth buying,
Developers are great and fix reported bugs and problems quickly,
Overall an AMAZING GAME BUY IT NOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
89 of 151 people (59%) found this review helpful
2 people found this review funny
59.1 hrs on record
Posted: December 4, 2014
This is probbly the best stratagy game ive ever played. Whever you like naval, bots or vehicular combat or Areodinamical units, this is the game 4 u :D Not to mention the mulitiplayer and the competetive side of this game is ammazing like no other retail game on steam, but the community is what caught my attention. Its allways there to help you. With build notes and ideas from the devs the community is not huge but a homely place to be in, whether you are new to stratagy games or not. GG this game is great :D
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
53 of 87 people (61%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
96.4 hrs on record
Posted: February 4
This game looks epic and also plays epic! i really recommend it to adept RTS players because it is Quite hard (i found out the hard way)
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
65 of 109 people (60%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
0.1 hrs on record
Posted: January 2
Info: I got my version from kickstarter and played quite a lot using the non steam version. See my biggest PA Stats profile here: http://pastats.com/player?player=410

PA is quite a good RTS already that can definitely yield any multiplayer RTS fan quite a few hours of fun. With Uber releasing patches on a monthly basis since release, having brought in new content like offline servers, ranked games, a much more powerful mapeditor and now the unit cannon it's gonna get better and better and better.
Definitely get it if you liked games like TA and SupCom:FA.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
45 of 73 people (62%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
19.9 hrs on record
Posted: January 16
first of all let me say how glad i am dor not listening to all the bad revieuws. if i did i missed out a great game.
some people gave it some serious critic's and some of them are right. but as how i see it most of the critic's i see it is the problem of the user having a under minimum spec's computer.
i see a lot of issues about lagging, memory failure etc etc these problem's are pure technical.
i am not saying they are wrong but you can't blame the dev's for this.

some con's from me
- there is not an tutorial mission (there is a guide)
- not a real storyline
- when you reject tech in galaxy war it's lost forever. it would be more logical that when you rejected it and move on to find an additional data bank, that you could go back to previous point and get the tech again.
- in MP i felt like really stupid played for 10 minutes and i was wiped out completly. i watched the game back in chronocam. watched my oponent with the hope i could learn something. but on the speed he fabricated some things it seems impossible to me. he had laser sattelites, nukes, and multiple orbital space platforms up in just 3 minutes.
- Not a decent save feature. (i heard they are working on that.)

now my pro's

+ great SP
+ nice visuals
+ decent guide
+ fantastic soundtrack during game
+ youre not in need of microtransactions to be better in the game. ( it's pure cosmetic)
+ endless replayabillity
+ living comunityhub

i do reccomend this game. but be carefull do not buy if youre not have the recomended spec's
i think this game is heavy'er than people think. (made that mistake myself a lot of times)
have fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
63 of 106 people (59%) found this review helpful
7 people found this review funny
128.8 hrs on record
Posted: December 18, 2014
+fun

-♥♥♥♥♥♥ coding
-uses HTML/Javascript for UI/modding
-uses GIGABYTES of RAM just to run a ♥♥♥♥ing UI/game
And don't you dare tell me that has been 'fixed'. Do you /REALLY/ need half a gigabyte for rendering ♥♥♥♥ing buttons?

I hereby award Planetary Annihilation my Hipsterism seal of design and ease of programming over function: http://i.imgur.com/qSqpTV2.png

These people don't even try to hide the fact that they're ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ on all that is beauty in the art of computer programming.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
52 of 86 people (60%) found this review helpful
97.9 hrs on record
Posted: December 5, 2014
This is one of the best games ive ever played. In short it is a real-time strategy game with amazing graphics. Not only can you play with your friends, but you can play with players from (almost :p) all around the world. If you have been pondering about getting this game, I highly reccomend you get it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
39 of 63 people (62%) found this review helpful
62.1 hrs on record
Posted: December 23, 2014
Personally, I freaking love this game, purely because of the amount of fun you can have with your friends. I agree with everyone else about it being out of beta, it shouldn't be. But the game is here and whether it is finished or not it is really good. Maybe the gameplay isn't polished, basically all you have to do is rush at the start of the game if you are both on the same planet or who can build the nukes the fastest game, but when you are with friends, you can set up rules like grace periods, no nukes, no annihilasers stuff like that, so you can have a proper war with units and armys. Now on the the singleplayer side of things (Galactic War). This is possibly the worst singleplayer i have ever played, like, i can't even understand what i have to do, limited troops and armys, it needs to be worked on. However, this is a very promising game and could be the best game i have played. Graphics aren't the best and i did expect better since this is a PLANETARY based game, but it is enough to tide me over for now, i just hope they improve.

They are still working on the game but it is very slow, made even slower by the 'new' and 'improved' game Human Resources. They have added a lot of things including unit cannons and offline mode, so in my opinion, ITS NOT A SCAM. I recommend this game to whoever hasn't played an rts before, because they have added in a small player guide which will help you a bit.

Also, this game in its current stage is not worth £22.99 or $35, buy it when its on sale for 50% off or something, then its worth what it should be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny
22 of 32 people (69%) found this review helpful
1 person found this review funny
35.5 hrs on record
Posted: February 2
Kinda hard in the begin, but once you realize you can spawn thousands of units in your screen, lagging down your pc, and you realize that lag caused you to miss checking the planet that are coming to you, and you are left with a rock and a nuclear explosion of your commander, it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Funny